What can I do against flickering caused by 2m data cable?

Hi,

I am new to WLED. Just let me describe my setup: I have connected 4 LED stripes (WS2815) to a ESP32 and each is connected to a different GPIO. Two of them have around 100 LEDs and two only around 60 LEDs. Three of the four LED stripes are close to the ESP32 and only one with 60 LEDs starts in a distance of around 2 meters. This LED stripe flickers (i.e. changing the color for a second) for around every 5 seconds or less. All LED stripes are powered by the same external 12V 10A power supply that is also next to the ESP32.

When I put this led stripe close to the ESP32 like the other ones, flickering stops. If I insert the long data wire again, flickering starts again. So I assume the cause is the long data wire. I use AWG18 cables like recommended by some overhyped you tube guide called chris.

After some research, I put a single LED after around 50 cm to amplify the data signal, and the flickering is reduced to around one flicker for very 20 seconds.

Do I have to connect that single LED closer to my ESP32? I did not try it because it requires a lot of effort since the LEDS are already mounted on the furniture. Are there any other solutions for this issue? What else information is necessary for diagnosing?

This is a common issue often remedied by including a levelshifter, checkout the KB - Levelshifters.

You can also look up KB - Long Data Lines, although that’s probably overkill for 2m :wink:

1 Like

Thank you so much for your reply.

So based on the list of level shifters, I will buy this one: https://www.amazon.de/8X-SN74AHCT125N-IC-digital-buffer/dp/B0115TLMMY

Does this work for my setting?

And I would wire it as follows: https://canada1.discourse-cdn.com/free1/uploads/wled/original/2X/b/be4b7d08d8a4714e39c60065d6f231078c383ce4.jpeg