110 feet of SK6812

Hi… Total noob to WLED, but I have dabbled in BASIC home automation as well as BASIC led lighting.

I had a scenario that i could use help planning out:

90% of our house has straight white 3500k led accent lighting everywhere (cabinets, counters, toe-kicks, etc). Trying to keep it clean and minimal.

The living room has a large tray ceiling (20’ x 35’) that I want to light white most of the time, but every now and then go with designs or colors based on parties, holidays, etc etc. The ceiling looks kinda like this

For this reason, I’m leaning towards 5v SK6812. I’ve got 4 outlets at each corner in the tray ceiling, so power injection and running wires isn’t a problem.

From my research, I think I will need:

• a 20A power supply for each 20’ run, and a 40A power supply for the 35’ runs, with power injected at either end and along the middle of the 35’ run?
  • TWO esp32’s…? it looks like I have about 2000 LED’s total

My questions (few of many):

• is my equipment list valid? assuming I put a power supply at each corner, and an ESP32 at two opposite corners?
  • Can i control 55’ of SK6812 with one ESP32? 60LED/m = 60*18 = 1080 LED’s
  • I’m assuming I can use the WLED app to synchronize my two ESP32’s to create one large light array

I have a feeling I’m looking at this wrong, but I don’t really know which path to even start on :slight_smile:

thanks!!

My general rule of thumb for LEDs is to assume a max of 0.3W/LED and do my power guess calculations from there. In general what you’ve described sounds reasonable power wise. The power injection details may require a little more thought depending on the actual LEDs you finally decide to install.