ESP32 + SK6812 connectivity/web interface question

Hi, this is my first time posting and my first LED project, so don’t throw your keyboard due to the soldering jobs. lol

I am working on a project to wire up my Christmas village houses with custom LEDs. Basically, I want an LED (or 2) in each house with JST connectors coming out to connect it all together. This way I can customize the lighting of each house.

Question:
I’ve done decently so far and my issue isn’t even the lights or the soldering. (Except maybe killing the crappy iron I have) The issue I have is with network connectivity strangely enough. I don’t think the wireless card in this thing is strong enough. I’ll get connectivity for a bit, then lose it and I won’t be able to access it. Or should I break down a buy a Dig uno with an antenna?

A little background, I work in IT and have dealt with network issues before, but this seems like something different. It’s almost like the web interface doesn’t want to work but the LEDs are on. I have a mesh network (currently Google Wifi, but I’ll be doing a Ubiquiti setup in the future).

Hardware:
ESP32 AITRIP USB-C

BTF SK6812RGBW pixels

I’ll post a link to pictures in another post, I can’t post more than 2 links as a new user.

People have had issues with mesh and Ubiquity needs certain settings to work.

You can get ESPs with external antennas.

1 Like

The other thing to check is make sure you have adequate power for the ESP32.
Those boards can easily need 0.5A to power properly, a USB wall wart is often not a good idea as those can be problematic.
Always a good idea to plan your ESP32 supply and LED supply to be independent (but joined with a common ground).

2 Likes