Can't Get LED Strip to Switch On

Hi folks,

I’m very new to all this so please go easy on me :slight_smile:

I’ve purchased a ESP32 board and a ESP8266 board and have tried to set this up on both boards. I’ll explain what i’ve done on each board below.

The particular brand is made by AZ Delivery and purchased through Amazon in the UK. I’m using a strip of Tesfish WS2812B lights with 300 LEDs over the 5 meter strip.
The pinout diagram for the ESP8266 can be found here and the pinout for the ESP32 is here

I’ve installed WLED on both of the boards and have connected them to my wifi without issue however when I connect the LED strips using the board delivered 5v power, I can’t get them to switch on. I’m using breadboard wires to make the connection.

I’ve used a multimeter to validate that both boards are outputing 5v on the pins I’m connnecting to which in the case of the ESP32 is the V5 and GND pins, any on the ESP8266 is the VIN and GND Pins. Once connected, i’ve again validated that 5v is being received at the other end of the LEDs using a multimeter.

On the ESP32 board I’ve connected the data to Pin G2 and set WLED to use GPIO2 which the pinout diagram suggests is correct - I have also changed this to different GPIO pins with no difference. On the ESP8266 I’ve connected the data cable to D2 which should be GPIO4 but again, nothing.

Can you guys tell me if i’m doing something wrong here?

Appreciate your help.

In general, step 1 is get the software working so you can reach it in your Web browser and configure WLED.
Step 2 is to connect the MCU to your strip and get some pretty colours

The KB has some good info on the basics and typical errors: WLED Basics

Without connecting your MCU (let’s start with the ESP32) to the LEDs, can you get to WLED in a browser to do some configuration?

Are your LEDs 5V, can you post a link?

Do you have any kind of a levelshifter?