Help with wiring diagram | WS2814 + ESP 8266

Hi all,

I am new to WLED and I am looking forward to building my first project in the next few weeks. I’ve scrolled through all the information I was able to find on this page and set up a wiring diagram that I would like to share with you.

In general, I have three main questions that I am going to ask you at the end of this text.

Setup: I made this wiring diagram containing the components recommended on the WLED homepage.

As LED strips, I am going to use the WS2814 model, which works with 24V. I would like to build two circuits that mainly act independently from each other but with the option to run them as one single LED strip. The first LED strip is approximately 4.5m long, and the second is approximately 7.7m. I calculated a fuse of 5A for the first circuit and a fuse with 7A for the second circuit. The third circuit contains an ESP8266 (D1 Mini) with a level shifter afterward and a step-down module to transform 24V from the PSU to 5V. The ground from all components will be connected to the one from the PSU via a Wago clamp. A capacitor and resistance will be connected to the level shifter as shown on the WLED homepage.

My questions are as follows:

1. I am not sure what kind of PSU I would need for this project. I know that I need one that supplies 24V and 300 Watts. BUT: Do I need a PSU which is dimmable? Unfortunately, I was not able to find this information. If I control the LEDs with an ESP8266 (which I believe has an option to dim the lights), will the PSU need an option such as dimmable via PWM?

In this case, I would choose the PSU from Meanwell, HLG-320H-24B, but I am confused about where to connect the blue and white wire coming from the PSU for the PWM. Additionally, those PSUs seem to be very expensive, and it could save me some money if it doesn’t have to be dimmable. Do you have any recommendations on which PSU to choose?