LEDs not turning on and controller crash

Hi there,

I’m new to this so my problem is probably something silly.
I have a D1 mini I got from here: WiFi Mini ESP8266 Main Board | Jaycar Electronics
I flashed it with WLED 0.12 and got it to join my network. The interface shows up as expected when no LED strip is plugged in.

I am trying to drive this LED strip with it: 2M RGB LED Strip with 120 x Addressable W2812B RGB LEDs Arduino/MCU Compatible 5V | Jaycar Electronics
And I am using a 5v 15A power supply as a supplemental input to the strip as I am planning a multi-strip display.

I have 2 sets of wires coming out of the power supply: one to power the D1 mini, the other to power the strip. Then I just have one more wire from the D4 pin to the data wire of the strip.
Given my test setup is only 30 LEDs long, I figured short breadboard jumper leads should be enough.

Once I put it all together, the D1 mini turns on and I can confirm I have 5V at the strip. However, no LEDs are turning on. What is even more strange is that the D1 Mini won’t reset if I press the reset button and won’t boot when the data wire is plugged in. That definitely doesn’t seem right.
I haven’t changed any of the settings and am running everything as default.

Any idea what the problem could be or where to start with the troubleshooting?

Thanks

HI , if you follow the wiring below then you should also run ground from your D1 mini to the strip
https://kno.wled.ge/basics/getting-started/

Hi ALDIY,

Thanks for your help.
However, the ground wire I use for the D1 mini and the LED strip both come from the power supply connector, so they are already connected.
I did also try adding in a level converter (mentioned as optional for longer strips in the diagram) but that didn’t make a difference.

Hello,