LEDs not turning on at all with wled

Hi Everyone. I am very new to leds and this is my first project. I have 98 ws2182b leds running in a sort of array and they will not work at all. I am using a esp32 with wled on it and am using a usb cable connected to a 5v 3a power supply but I limit the current to 2A. The leds will not turn on at all and I have triple checked everyone connection but still nothing. Can anyone help me?

Also I am using a 62 ohm resistor in the data line

What pin do you use for leds? You could upload photo of your connections, it’s hard to see above

I’m sorry for the crappy photo, I used the d2 pin for the data signal the other was Vin and ground

Upload this code and see if it works:

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>

#define PIN        2
#define NUMPIXELS 98
Adafruit_NeoPixel pixels(NUMPIXELS, PIN, NEO_GRB + NEO_KHZ800);

void setup() {
  pixels.begin();
}

void loop() {
  byte r = random(0,60);
  byte g = random(0,60);
  byte b = random(0,60);
  for(int i=0; i<NUMPIXELS; i++) {
    pixels.setPixelColor(i, pixels.Color(r, g, b));
    pixels.show();   // Send the updated pixel colors to the hardware.
    delay(10); // Pause before next pass through loop
  }
}
1 Like

To the esp32?

Sure.

Okay then I will try that tomorrow

Just to be sure, did you change the pin in wled config?

Do I have to upload it through arduino ide or can I just use like home flasher?

It’s standard pin 16 I was watching some other tutorials tryna find what I did wrong and they all had he same pin 16 I still tried changing it but no lights sadly

It’s easier through IDE i think

Okay thank you so much I will update you tomorrow

If you don’t have IDE prepared for esp32, add this line to Preferences → Additional Boards Manager URLs:

https://dl.espressif.com/dl/package_esp32_index.json

then pick your board from Tools → Board, Node32s should be okay, if you can’t find yours
and correct port to which your board is connected in Tools → Port,