New to WLED, have a number of questions : )

Hi everyone,

I’m completely new to WLED/Controllers/LED strips, you name it lol.

I’m looking to run 20/21 metres of WS2812B (60 LEDs per metre) along the inside of my converted shed. The overall goal is to have this controlled by an:

“SP-Cow ESP32S ESP32 Development Board”

with a microphone attached:

“AZDelivery Max9814 Microphone AGC Amplifier Board 2.7V - 5.5V Auto Gain Control Amplifier”

and using the sound reactive version of WLED to make the LEDs reactive.

First question is, is this possible via a single controller and power supply? it will work out as 1200/1260 LEDs in total. The power supply I have purchased is an:

“AC 110V/230V to DC 5V 60A 300W Switching Power Supply AC-DC Power Adapter Transformer”

I have a feeling its not possible and I may need 2 controllers, if so will I also need 2 Power supplies or will the one above be able to handle both 10m runs?

If I need 2 controllers, I was thinking about running 10m on each, connecting the mic to one of the controllers, making it the master, making the other controller the slave and then using the sync functionality to make them both sound reactive.

Just not 100% sure if I need multiple power supplies etc.

Then there’s the whole power injection side of things, I have watched every YouTube video I can find on this but no-one seems to have a simple how-to video on the subject and I don’t want to cause a fire lol.

It kind of seems like for e.g. a 10m run of LEDs, i would run an additional 10m power injection cable from the same power supply and then strip back the wire at points and “T” off an additional cable to the LEDs where the injection is needed?

I plan to put the entire 20m of LEDs inside diffuser channels.

To get me started I have purchased the PSU, 1 Controller, Microphone and just 1 metre WS2812B so I can prove I’m capable of doing this before buying 20 metres lol.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!!

1 Like