Trying (On purpose) To make the Data fail from the ESP32

Happy Holidays everyone… I’m trying hard to Replicate a Data Signal issue on the ESP32 with WLED, I’m pretty new to this kind of thing, and normally don’t have an issue getting things wrong lol. As you will see, I’m struggling. Does anyone have any thought on why this is happening? Normally data issues happen after only a matter of feet! https://youtu.be/F-uSKGQz0Rc?si=aEtqv2ifHjE3TchB

If this is the owner (and even if it’s not) of the youtube video, you’ve highlighted one of the basic issues with “solving” flicker/data corruption issues.

Starting with idea that addressable LEDs are “magic” black boxes that we can talk to and get them to display all sorts of wonderful colours, we need some rules for these boxes:

1. When we feed data into 1 box, anything more than data for exactly 1 box “overflows” into the next attached box (they’re “daisy-chained”). Our first box will only display the very last thing we sent it.

2. In order to display the correct colours at the correct brightness we ask for, the box needs a 5V supply able to provide the current it needs.

3. The protocol (“language”) to talk to our boxes consists of a set of 3 numbers each from 0-255 that tell the box what brightness to show each of the Red, Green, and Blue LEDs in the box. More importantly (perhaps even most importantly) than the value of each number, is the timing requirements of those numbers. They must be sent in a particular and precisely timed pattern. Furthermore our box is a digital device and the way it understands the 3 numbers is as a series of “1”'s and "0’s or bits. Since we need a set of 3 numbers from 0-255 which each need 8 bits, we’re sending 24 bits of tightly formatted pulses.

4. There is a link between 2) and 3) in that our box needs to allow some margin of error in what corresponds to a “1” and “0”. Typically they’re made so that anything less than 0.3Vsupply is a 0 and anything more 0.7Vsupply is a 1