Feedback on my project for my son

Hello,

for my son, I plan a little project:
On his wall, he wants a stripe in the shape of an X, but the two sides of the X shall be offset by another stripe.

\__/
 /  \

The middle bar shall be 70cm, the four elements of the shall be 35cm.

It shall be ambient lighting only. My Questions:

1. 30 or 60 LED/m? or even more?
  2. Pure ESP8266 or one of the many boards?
    • I see that some boards have a relay to cut the power to reduce standby consumptions - how much is it?
    • Do I need the levelshifter in this case?
  3. should I put it in/on aluminium for better cooling? The actual shape will be wooden.
  4. can I supply in one of the corners, or should I supply the voltage in the middle?
  5. is it possible to visualize that shape in WLED and to animate it properly that way? I.e. the upper and lower left part of the X first, then the middle part, then the upper/lower right part of the X?

Thanks for your patience with me - I am a novice, as you can tell…

Greetings,
Hendrik

1. Depends on how bright you need the final product to be. Are you lighting the room with this or is it just an interesting feature? Roughly speaking,
    your dimensions 35cm+35cm+70cm+35cm+35cm=210cm => either 63 or 126 LEDs

At maximum brightness you can expect something like 0.2-0.3W/LED (depending on what you buy)
So you’re looking at 12-18W or 24-36W, you’ll have to decide if that’s enough for your needs.
A secondary issue may be how many LEDs you’ll actually fit in the sections of your shape and you may have to adjust up or down.

1. For a new build, I would recommend an ESP32 based board. There’s almost no cost difference and the future capability of the ESP32 is well worth it. As far as standby power for the LEDs, I have measured it to be typically 1mA/LED. Your setup would be on the order of <150mA. Unless this is battery powered, I wouldn’t worry about it, you’re talking less than 1W of standby power.