First time WLED through counter lighting

This is my first time using WLED. It’s everything I was going to try to do and much more. Perfect for me to be able to hand off to a non-tech person or customer for easy app controlled lighting.

My only issue so far will hopefully be fixed tonight when I tweak and compile it manually. 1500 led limit.

I already had the light board built and installed before I found WLED. The data line is not accessible now that it is installed. I was using an esp8266 with the fast led library and the patterns hard coded during testing so didn’t realize that 3610 leds was going to be a problem.

I have upgraded to an esp32 so don’t expect any problems. I don’t need fast frame rates.!

First time using this many leds, first time doing through lighting a countertop. 5x8 Island. I usually do edge lit acrylic signs.

esp8266 minus a couple of the rows.

1 Like

Very unusual setup. Question is why do you need more then 1500 LEDs? What is density of your LED strip?

That looks amazing!
What kind of mineral stone is it?

@srg74 i guess that many are needed so that the light appears uniform. And it is easier to lay the LEDs in a matrix layout even beneath the opaque parts.

1 Like

The obvious answer to your question is I have more than 1500 leds. 3610 to be exact.

When I was building it I was testing with an esp8266 using fastled library and all my patterns hard coded. It’s update rate was slow. But still perfect for the project.

I had planned on upgrading to esp32 all along. So wasn’t worried about the web interface eating to many resources. And could always move up to a raspberry pi if needed.

I tried soulmate but wasn’t able to get past a few hurdles fast enough. (all instruction are for a mac and on an older release of espressif ide, that was where I got tripped up.)