First timer questions

Hi,

I have a few questions before I start messing up stuff.
I am a electronics noob. I know the basics but when it comes to fuses and stuff I am lost :slight_smile:

I have a WS2812 5 Meter LED Strip with 300 RGB LEDs
DC5V, 0.1-0.3W/LED, 30W-90W/5m
I guess red wire is + and white wire is gnd?
The three in the plug would then be the rgb wires?
(i put all pics into one because as new user I can only embed 1 picture)

a 12 Volt Power supply
alternatively I have a 5V USB Power supply with 40 watts

which of those would you recommend to use?
I got 65 watts with the WLED Calculator, so I guess I should use the 12 volt one?

and an Amica Modul V2 ESP8266 ESP-12F

do you have recommendations for a level shifter and a 5 volt buck?
Also: what is that M F after the 62 ohm in the drawing in the get started image?

I hope you guys can help me out a bit on this :slight_smile:

https://kno.wled.ge

I know that and I already watched 5 videos

But I can’t find a single bit of information as to what these are (circled red) nor can anyone explain to me why nearly every tutorial doesn’t use them at all

In Dr Zzs video, he for example just plunges a 12 volt power supply to a 5 volt LED strip
But in the picture it says you need a 5V buck

what now?
Do you need one or not?

The diagram is more of a “all the possible safety features and functions you may need” picture than “here’s the basics to slap something together” type of document.

There are 3 fuses using the same symbol as the (only) one documented on the far left.
They’re supposed to protect your wiring and are included as the level of current that can occur in LED projects is not tiny, even though the voltage is typically low and the power levels modest.