Long Data Wire + ESP8266 + Level Shifter

I have 2 ESP8266 boards running 700 leds each. The first board is running lights across the first floor of my house the the data wire is connected directly to the D4 pin on the board and all works without issue.

The problem I am having is the second board is to run lights on the upper level of the house and I need to have a long data wire (over 10M) to reach the first strip. The data cable I am using is 14 AWG.

Both boards are sitting in my garage and the lights are outside.

I have read that when using a long data wire I need to add a level shifter, which I have done. When putting an LED strip directly off the level shifter everything works. However, when I add my 10+ meter data cable I run into the issue where the board will not boot up.

I have tried with and without the 470 Ohm resistor as I have seen mentioned in other questions.

I am new to all of this and am not sure what I am missing?
I am also attaching my wiring diagram.

Here is the level shifter that I am using:

1 Like

Add a pull-up 4k7 resistor to a D4 pin.

I just put a 4k7 resistor from the D4 pin to 5V+ and it still does not boot with the data wire connected.

Not 5V!!! 3.3V.
You will damage ESP.

1 Like

Tried again with 4k7 from D4 to 3.3V. Still does not boot with data wire attached. I unplugged the data wire and it booted properly.

then your data line is pulled low which prohibits booting.
use some other pin (GPIO12-GPIO14 or GPIO4-GPIO5)

1 Like

The “How far can I put my controller from my LED’s” question comes up often as we’re all trying to cover our living spaces with wonderful LED projects.
Here’s my short primer on the 3 scenarios (for serially addressable LED’s, WS281x, APA102,etc,etc):

Legend:
D1 is the 3.3V LED data from the ESP-WLED controller.
D2 is the “corrected” LED data after a level shift back to TTL (quasi-5V) levels.
Ro is the kludge resistor used when you’re in scenario “B” and trying to force things back to “A”.