After Firmware update, now need 3.3K resistor to boot - D1 Mini

I have been running WLED Toki on my ESP8266 D1 Mini clone for 9-10 months without any issues. I was trying to add UPD Sync via one of the SR firmwares (12.0). It didn’t work as expected because it doesnt have all the effects to sync with newer firmwares, so I reflashed it with Hoshi. Now the LED strip only lights up the first couple of LEDs and I need to add the 3.3K resistor between D4 and 3.3V. I tried to reflash to Toki and other firmwares, but regardless, now I need the resistor. Any ideas why I didn’t need the resistor before and now I do? I recall this same issue before when I was upgrading between the WLED firmware. All the sudden adding to add the resistors to the boards.

You should’ve used level shifter anyway.
You were just lucky that it worked before.

The length between my D1 Mini and first led is 50mm (2in), so I have been able to get away with not using level shifters. I have it mounted on my bike wheel and the leds run directly from it. Based on my limited research, I didn’t see the need to add a level shifter unless the length was a several feet due to voltage drop.

LED specifications call for 5V data line, ESP can only provide 3.3V.
If you are getting away without using one you are abusing input tolerances of LED strip. Regardless of wire length.

The other problem is (or better - are) strapping pin(s). For ESP8266 that includes GPIO2 (D4) which needs to be high at boot.

TTL High is anything above 2V. For very short lengths, six inches works for me, you can drive the Data-In on the WS2812. Longer wires adds voltage drop and your 3V3 data can go below 2V. I use WS28xx LEDS in lots of projects and I have never needed a level shifter.

Sometimes I use a sacrificial WS2812 on the controller board which acts as a level shifter since each WS2812 regenerates the data signal. In other words, only the first LED in the string needs to work with the 3V3 data signal from an ESP.