Turn on leds one by one (like wipe, but keep them on)

Hello, I am pretty new to WLED and just implemented it in HASSIO using the integration. Really like the amount of effects, reliability and speed!

I have got a led strip of 468 leds between both my stairs. The strip is behind the stair railing.
When movement is detected, I would like to turn the leds on one by one starting from downstairs all the way to the attic. Like the wipe effect, but than keep them on when they are all turned on. Is there a way to set the effect like this without modifying the WLED code?

As a bonus, I would also like the following. When movement is detected on the first floor I like to turn the part of the strip from the stair between ground floor and first floor on from top to bottom. The part of the strip from the stair between the first floor and second floor should turn on from bottom to top. I believe I should be able to use segmentats for that.

Take a look at the github project files, specifically the usermods section, and see the wipe basic meant for exactly the situation you describe.
You will need to integrate that usermod into WLED and build the firmware. If others have already done it, they may make it available to you if you cannot build it yourself.

1 Like

Wow thank you for your fast reply! I gonna take a look at that. Building the firmware is totally new for me though. I gonna give it a try :slight_smile:

1 Like

Indeed this project looks exactly like what I would like to achieve. Thanks for your advice.

I have googled around to look how to build my own firmare. To be honest I have no idea what to do or what I am doing. :sweat_smile:

I have done the following in Arduino IDE so far:

1. Install the ESP8266 board manager.
  2. Selected the NodeMCU 1.0 (ESP 12-E Module). I use the NodeMCUv2 and am succesfully running Wled on this default Binary: WLED_0.x.x_ESP8266.bin;
  3. Copied the code in ‘wled06_usermod.ino’ from the stairway_wipe_basic into ‘usermod.ccp’.