X-lights latency

Anybody know what the latency is with WLED and xlights? Or any way to reduce it.

Can you clarify what you are trying to do?

In general network latency is the only latency. I run wled with xlights and see no visible delay.

5ms up to several seconds.

It depends on a few factors, like the protocol, the number of LEDs you are trying to drive and the signal strength of the ESP used.

For the lowest possible latency, I highly recommend using the DDP protocol (instead of E1.31) and using a board with wired Ethernet instead of WiFi. (e.g. QuinLED Dig boards with ethernet, or an Olimex ESP32-POE). If the installation requires using WiFi, choosing a board with an external antenna also helps immensely.

1 Like

I’ve never heard of DDP, I’m an events system tech so always DMX, Artnet or Scan so will have a read on DDP.

At the moment I’m Using a D1 mini pro with an external antenna.

Is the WT32-ETH01 any good? Just getting into xlight - on a budget. And i can get a WT32_Eth01 and a level shifter for $15 compared to $100 NZD for the other boards.

Kev

The DDP protocol is defined here DDP PROTOCOL it is a lot simpler that E131 or ArtNet. In our dev branch we DDP implemented and it works well, but not great. There are things that need to be worked out. Does brightness get set on the sender or receiver? Power On set on the sender or receiver? Gamma, etc What happens when the UDP signal stops. Over the weekend I started on E131, but my first attempt did not work. Since I may be using xlights/fpp too and want to use E131, I would like to get it to work so I dont have to switch the WLED recievers between DDP and E131.

1 Like

Regarding brightness: WLED already has brightness override checkmark which, if checked, will ignore brightness set on receiver so only sender will control it.
This leaves the choice to user if he/she wants double brightness adjustments.
It may not be obvious at first glance though.