Matrix illuminated Lego storage cabinet

Hi all,

Quick introduction, I’m vijv from the Netherlands and working on a fully automated Lego room.

Some years ago we moved to a 500 yrs listed house and mentioned Lego room is located on one of the top floors. This big space finally gave me the opportunity to create the most fantastic multi-purpose Lego workshop, on which I have been working for the past two years. The room has a surface of 9x5mtrs and is 7mtrs high.
All of my wishes have been implemented, most important to create a non-standard Lego room with just cabinets stacked full with models.
The room has several area’s:

• Big (automated) desk space with 4 working areas, not only for my own creativity, but also to be used as workshop and instruction area (we do a lot of educational Lego robotics stuff) (finished)
  • 8mtr long automated display cabinet, from which all (individual automated) Lego models can be controlled from a touchscreen (finished, will be adding more automated models as they are completed)
  • Over the top Lego decorated roof (finished)
  • Big Lego storage cabinet, with transparent drawers lit from the back (finished, or so I thought…)

And the last project is where I’m here for. The storage cabinet is impressive how it is, lighted from the back, but several visitors have joked about finding bricks by lighting the drawers. And you guys understand this will be the first renewal project after finishing the whole Lego room just weeks ago.

Above is a year old picture of the cabinet, you get the idea. Standard LED strips are placed vertically behind all stacks of drawers, 17 stacks and 312 drawers in total.
My plan is to replace all LED strips and mount 3 addressable LED’s behind every drawer.