Yet another Under Cabinet Light Project

This is a Work In Progress as I am just getting started.
We have started a long-overdue kitchen renovation. The design is finished, the cabinets (etc) have been ordered. I have been charged with adding under-cabinet lighting. What better thing to use than WLED, which I use for my COVID-Christmas outdoor lighting (because static lights are boring).
There are 5 cabinets: L&R of the cooker, L&R of the sink & L of the fridge. Each will have its own D1-Mini. I played with the ESP-01 for a while and decided that it was just too glitchy - no amount of tinkering would keep it running without rebooting. The goal is to keep the controller small but at the end of the day, a slightly bigger controller is better than one which is unstable. The first prototype is pictured here. A D1 Mini and a Sidecar for connectors and resistors & capacitor. Eventually I will cut off the unneeded protoboard and package it.
Determining how to get power to the controller has been difficult but there are outlets directly under each cabinet and I will install new USB outlets in the boxes as a part of the reno. Wires will be run up the new backsplash tile and along the bottom of the cabinet to a low-profile 3D printed housing behind the LEDs which will be in aluminum profiles with diffusers. I am using SK6812 RGBW to get a better white than I get with RGB. WLED handles the white perfectly.

Since taking the pictures I added a button connection (and SMD pullup) for a local power toggle/dimmer.
Eventually control will be from (as of yet unspecified) touch panels which will communicate with a central Raspberry Pi MQTT broker and send commands to the WLED controllers using Node Red (on the Pi) using the HTTP API or MQTT (when it matures). My outdoor WLED lights are controlled this way (and are run by a NodeMCU in an ammo box on my back porch, a story for another day).

1 Like