Table Lights for banquets

So I am really green when comes to WLED and the world of single board computers so if you could just bare with me. So far I’m getting the hang of the basic hardware & functions and now people are buying my box lights so I need to start stepping it up. One potential customer does wedding catering so we thought some table lights for ambiance instead of cheap battery candles.
I’ve been using the ESP-WROOM-32 dev boards along with 8x8 matrix in my larger lights so the main hardware question is can I use the mini ESP-WROOM-32 to save space and only run a 12" strip on a properly matched battery pack.
Next is connectivity. Is it possible to use a different ESP as a server or a Pi? Remember I’m a noob just wanting to learn from the pro’s.

As far as what ESP board you use, that’s purely a matter of what you’re happy with.
At the LED counts you’re talking about (<100 per ESP) it really won’t matter much.
If you can post a link to the boards you’re considering, we might be able to see other issues.

You’ll probably have to do much more work getting a battery sized to match the brightness you want and give you the charge life you need (4-6Hrs of “session life”?).

On connectivity what are you hoping to accomplish?
WLED is ESP only, but it will take data from other environments like ArtNet/DMX etc. That opens the door to other software running on PC’s.
There are simpler setups as well where 1 ESP can sync effects to multiple devices.

There are also fairy lights, which are very popular for small decorations, and are battery friendly. However, most of these use non-programmable ICs with very basic effects which may not be to your liking.

You can find addressable Fairy lights as well.
Many of us have bought the cheap USB controller style sets and simply cut off the controller and interfaced the strand to a standard WLED controller.

Could be the best of both worlds in that they’re lower power, but will interface to an ESP32