Newbie Questions - Pixel Count and Christmas Light Effect

I am new to WLED (couple days) and have a couple initial questions. I am running “about” 225 pixels on a Dig-Uno. I have done some hunting and not found the answers - if this is already in another thread - please point me there.

First - How accurate does the pixel count have to be? Do I have to go out in the cold and try to count? Is there an easier way? I believe my number is between 220 and 225. I chose 225 to ensure all would get lit.

My initial (prime) objective is to emulate typical Christmas Lights ( and keep my family happy). I find that the Pride 2015 effect gives a pretty good result. Is there a way to add the random white flashing light found in Glitter to it?

BTW - I am not beyond a programming solution to solve this.

Thanks

I change the LED count while watching the LEDs. With default of 30, you see how far that goes. Since you know it’s > 200 and < 250, start with 200 and see how much is left (estimate). Then increase # of LEDs by ~3/4 of your estimate.

I keep doing this until I can visually count the number of LEDs still dark. I then add 1 less than that number of LEDs to verify it’s exactly 1 from the end.

Of course, I then add that last 1 and make sure that last pixel comes on.

The reason is that you can add a cable to the end of that set of LEDs and drive another segment of LEDs from the same DigUno data output pin. With DigUno’s (aka (DigDuo’s…), you can drive 2 pins without much effort, and each pin can easily support ~1000 LEDs. Each set of LEDs can be in its own “segment” with its own coloring and effect. That’s quite a bit of flexibility from the mighty DigUnoDuo

Then I make a label and attach it to that strip at the beginning - so I don’t need to do that again.