Staircase light Tutorial and Blank Screen Error for WIFI Settings

Hi

I am completely new to the topic of WLED and have a few questions that I have not yet been solved or are still unclear to me.

LED: ws2812b
Controller: ESP8266
WLED Version: 0.11.1

Error
WIFI Settings Blank Screen:
After the initial setup and the assignment of a static IP I can access the web interface without problems and control the LEDs. I also get into every submenu. But as soon as I want to enter the WIFI Settings menu, I get a blank page in every browser. Why this is so I can not say. Are there any solutions for this?

Question of understanding or solution for a project:
I would like to realize a staircase lighting.
I had thought to divide each step into segments (LED 1-40 = Segment 1 / LED 41-82 = Segment 2 etc.). These segments I would then gradually controlled via my home automation Loxone via http command.
How do I achieve a staircase lighting such as here in this video?

or like here

Evtl you have a tutorial here for me how I realize the staircase lighting, because I do not know at the moment.

Thanks a lot

1 Like

Ok the problem with the blank screen in wlan settings are solved.

My ssid containt a space and a point (.) .
This is a bug. With a point and a space it does not work good.

Hello Maveric, the staircase in the video is a friend of mine. He first did this with a combination of WLED and Home Assistant, but that was not optimal. We created a usermod for WLED, you can find that here (it has instructions on how to get things running):

Please note that this is on a branch, once everything is the way we want it I’ll create a pull request and hopefully it will be part of a next version of WLED so we can all have cool stairs like this :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you :slight_smile: i will look into it. I also want to combinate my WLED with my Homeautomation called “Loxone” and want to trigger it with an udp command. Im new to WLED and have to look how to integrate usermods.