WLED works perfect, until used in a Large Crowd

Hello,

I am new to WLED, but I have enjoyed learning about them recently. I was apart of a team that created a Light Show for our Local High School Band. We have 15 NodeMCUs controller 5v LED strips with 50 leds per strip. Any time we practice the show, it works perfect. However at the actual show, which is at halftime of football games, we get a lot of inconsistent performance. My gut tells me that is most likely has something to do with extra interference and possible network issues.

The problem seems like the UDP format is dropping packets. We will see some lights change, while others dont respond. The next synced effect usually does the same thing, but with different lights working. We have a wireless router connecting all of them on a local network. We tried the “Send 2 Notifications” trick and again, it seems to be very responsive at run throughs and practices. But in the football stadium is really unpredicable.

The props are moving throughout the show, so it needs to be wireless. I am considering running FPP on a Pi with xLights to see if that would make a difference. Thanks for your interest in our problem! I look forward to hearing about possible solutions.

Interesting and i would expect that on a wireless router might be worth taking a look at ESP-Now done here Discord

I would say you need dedicated router to use with your props. In that case you will avoid interference from high traffic. Also try to use network scanner to see what Wi-Fi channels is already in use and avoid them. Higher channels is better Wi-Fi signal performance. It looks like a basic things.

Oh that’s a great idea! We have a dedicated router with a password and hidden SSID. On game day though, there is a ton more traffic. Broadcasters, coaches headsets, even the stadium lights are on various wireless networks. I didn’t think about changing the channel. Do you have a recommendation for a WiFi scanner?