WS2811+ESP32 intermittent dropouts

TL;DR

Experiencing unstable behaviour - device drops out from Home Assistant, web interface is not available during the downtimes, intermittent ping. When the setup is not glitching, everything works perfectly fine - colours, brightness, animations.

Question: What should I try next to help troubleshoot the issue? My money is on the power supply and I’ll try the LED power cap next whilst I wait for the level shifter parts to arrive.

Hardware

Setup description

I converted two super cheap corner LED stands to run WLED firmware using the spare ATOMs I had lying around. This is my first project and I had a bit of fun putting it together. Worked fine “in the lab” but when I installed them in the bedroom behind the bed, I could not even load up the web interface. Blaming WiFi, I bought another access point for the bedroom. The wifi theory was supported by my better half complaining about the reception.

The new AP (Thanks Unifi!) made reception much better, the device was usable. After a week, I noticed that both of the devices would sometimes glitch out, but one more than the other. The one with more issues (Jess LED) was the one further away from the AP. And by further away I mean 2.2m as opposed to 20cm.

Worth noting that a bunch of other ESP devices in the household had no wifi issues at all, notably the in-wall Shelly relays.

I have eliminated the controller itself from being the issue by trying out 5 different ones. In fact I even flashed two controllers with ESPHome and sat them down next to the LED controllers to track their RSSI. The testers’ signal was inline with what I am seeing from the WLED devices, but much more stable. Note that the testers were running off their own power supplies.

Problem description